METAPHYSICAL COCKTAILS

"If you were a cocktail, which one would you be?"Β 
-- Big Al.

Of course, my old roistering chum Big Al -- better seasoned in the twin worlds of hedonism and theosophy than I, it can't be denied -- asks all sorts of eccentric questions, but this one [from quite a while ago] has set me thinking, as I quickly type these words before preparing to venture tentatively towards the bright lights of the demi-metropolis for an eventide of chimerical chatter, saucy banter & intoxicating beverages of many colours... hopefully.  

If asked the cocktail question, I suppose my chums would think of me as a good ol' gin & tonic; possessed of a certain heady flavour and [pseudo-] pretentious pseudo-sophistication, but not always to everyone's taste. More specifically, it'd be because it's a good old English favourite, and I'm seen by many [offline, at least] as the quintessential posh Englishman. [My good friend & exquisite fellow blogger Professor Lovely comments on this from time to time.] 

I've lived for most of my life in England, and speak with a posh accent, so I suppose I am a posh Englishman in many ways... and I don't mind being called such. 
On the other hand, I'm essentially a Celtic soul [of oddly mixed heritage] and my family were definitely what would be termed working class, so a lot of it's down to perception. 

Therefore, if I were a cocktail?  
I'd be comprised of a slug of Scotch whisky, a slug of Irish whiskey, a slug of [Sicilian] Limoncello and, last but not least, some [French] champagne -- with lemonade and ice for the sake of the drinker's throat.

A cocktail du monde, perhaps? 
It does sound enticingly inclusive, deliciously diverse... but as to the taste? Maybe I'll have to make one. [And I'll tell you what it tastes like after I get up off the floor...] 
 
Better still, just line up the aforementioned drinks in separate glasses on the bar, and I'll happily imbibe 'em one by one. ;-)

Cheers [!]
Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

10 thoughts on “METAPHYSICAL COCKTAILS”

    1. Oh I love me some limoncello… zingy. πŸ˜‰
      Haha certainly: you’re one of my finest roistering chums, Professor… of course we’ll have to have a wager to see who falls over first. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’d like to say “that winning-best2014award-cocktail in Dublin in The Shelbourne Hotel (bar)” but I’m too simple/stupid for that.. I think I’d be a mix of a ‘beer-champagne’ lol but in reality, pls give me red wine 🍷 πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜¬

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ˜€
      Haha well if beer-champagne speaks to you I’d definitely recommend a ‘Black Velvet’ or two… a nice layered cocktail πŸ™‚
      Oh yes, I’m partial to a good glass of red myself. Preferably Chilean, but unlike some of my more refined chums who go to wine-tastings, I’ll pretty much drink whatever’s available. πŸ˜‰ 🍷

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.