SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST ?

"Take care of your body -- it's the only place you have to live."
-- Mr Jim Rohn 


Of course, survival of the fittest in the original Darwinian definition refers to 'fitness' in the evolutionary-biological sense... so the phrase means [at least in my understanding] that those most likely to survive in nature tend to be those who are most easily able to adapt themselves to changes... and therefore 'fit' best. It doesn't mean: "survival of the strongest... so I'll be utterly selfish and tread on the weak bastards." [As practised by some of my least favourite people.] 

It's in interesting point, psychologically, because I've found that the more I'm able to react and adapt to setbacks and changes of circumstance [something I am not a natural at] the more content and happy and calm I'll be. 

Moving along, though... we come to Buffy's personal fitness, which is much less interesting to evolutionary biologists!

After a few one-off try-outs in January, today marked my first 'jogging' day. 

My delightful chum and fellow blogger Professor Lovely [aka Summer of the 'Summer SHINES' blog] has inspired me by her devotion to the RED January, and I thought, "why not?" 

I used to be a runner. Not a professional one, but a rather good one, if I say so myself. 
Haha, I'm able to toot my own horn because the important part of the preceding sentence was "used to be"... when I was good, I was a mere child in my early 20s. Now I'm a seasoned old duffer in my late 30s. 

But my legs still work, so I've no excuse. 
I'm not in bad shape... but I'm not particularly fit, either. And I'd like to be fit... or else my lifestyle of excess might start catching up with me[!] 

I'm not a fitness freak and sometimes shudder at the idea of 'healthy living', which goes against my pseudo-hedonistic ideals... but as a realist [such as I am], I'm prepared to admit that being healthy is a hell of a lot better than the alternative.

Anyway, half an hour ago, I did it... my first 'proper' run since 2014.

-- I did about a mile.  [On and off...that's my limit.] 
-- I didn't have a heart attack. 
-- I didn't have a panic attack. 
-- I didn't run into a tree.
-- I wasn't laughed at by children.

Conditions were not ideal, however: throughout my whole jog, it didn't stop raining. 
Peeing it down.
Chucking buckets. 
Piss from Heaven.

"Apres moi, le deluge" ... as they say in Swindon [and possibly Paris].

But I'm content. 
Pleased with myself. 
Happy I did it.

Anyway, in my head, now, I hear my own, tired voice:
"Never again..." 
Then I hear Professor Lovely's voice: 
"You WILL do it tomorrow!"

...So I don't have a choice, do I?

So anyway... thank you, Professor. You might not be having the best day today, but your shine is definitely shining in the world.
Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

48 thoughts on “SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST ?”

  1. I lol’ed @ “I wasn’t laughed at by children”. It reminds me of a meme by anxiety cat, where the cat is thinking, “Hears group of children laughing, assumes they’re laughing at you”.
    Good job on getting started! I’m horrible at running, lol

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Carolyn,
      Haha I like that [!] Poor cat.
      Several years ago I was very large, and ran to lose the weight. I was ultimately successful, but the kids at the nearby bus stop found my initial (portly) attempts to jog somewhat amusing… after swearwords and jeers, alternative routes were found!
      Ah, do you just not like running? I’m not a big fan but it’s just easier to fit into my day than other exercise. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah not into it, I like low impact (yoga and walking), I’m hyper mobile so that running stuff tends to stress my joints. As a former smoker, I always shied away from cardio for obvious reasons, but maybe I’ll try again someday. ALSO, have a medical condition where I shouldn’t sweat too much
        ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah. right… well at least you know what’s good/bad for your body. I appreciate the problems of high impact [I’ve had knee troubles before] which is why I’m sticking to a mile maximum. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love to walk but it takes more time… haha I suppose I could just get up earlier. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Do not pretend u r “oldie”…yoga is good for the soul, but it doesn’t burn any calories. Here’s snowing anyway, can’t dream about any running before march. Only gym. But I never run there anyway ๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. To go to gym (on a regular basis) is a hard work ๐Ÿ˜“ too. Here in Sweden ppl using it for meet ups (often), that’s fkn irritating! First – they talk non stop & take lots of space …second – some trying to hook up with u/ I personally always wear “very angry” look there haha ๐Ÿ˜‚ so nobody asks anything anymore. I’m at the gym only 40-45 min, 2-3 times a week now, I work hard – I leave. That’s all the point of going there. But it’s all about finding of what u love the most. Some ppl love exercising outside (very healthy btw, more fun too).

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It seems gym culture is similar whether in Sweden or the UK… the meet up/hook up aspect is a shame, as I prefer it to be a place to concentrate on the exercise.
        You do very well: if I went to the gym these days I’d probably do 7 minutes’ exercise, 10 minutes’ rest, 23 minutes’sleep. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Haha I’m sure I’d be frightened by your “very angry look”! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, similar.. but we have female gym-part* in our gym, and there I’m training bcz I find it more relaxing :)) no, I can’t waste time by sitting there..so I’m usually train hard 40-45 min, max 1 hr. I think it’s good enough bcz I don’t drive so I’m walking everywhere = I walk a lot (+ with dogs)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re right to be scared Buffy. Protein blitz it has to be. You gave me permission to get on your case. And yes…you WILL tomorrow and I’d also love you to run the 10k with me on June 11th ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜‡ Thanks for being sweet what you said. I’m not shiny but thank god I have friends like you Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes… I don’t suppose I can retract that permission I gave you? ๐Ÿ˜‰ *gulps*
      Hmm… June 11th? I am going to give that a lot of thought! It would be lovely to run together, certainly.
      And you’re more than welcome… bless you; you’ve done more for me than you can imagine, and no matter what, you are my friend. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah!!! ๐Ÿ™Œโ€‹๐Ÿ’ชโ€‹๐Ÿ‘โ€‹๐Ÿ‘โ€‹๐Ÿ‘โ€‹ I love running. Nothing wonderful either, but it is really great for the mind. I try and think about the things I’m grateful for when I run. It helps me get in a positive mindset. It gives me energy for the day as well. Keep it up! Yeah!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ipuna… it’s fabulous to get some positive responses. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes that’s a good idea to try to focus on gratitude, and I’m going to bear that in mind later… often we forget to be grateful, and in turn that takes energy from us, or seems to.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Buffy,
        I received this message from a Dr. Andrea Dinardo. You maybe following her blog already. It’s interesting because it talks about energy and what you and I discussed. It’s so true! I hope you enjoy this comment from her.

        Her blog just in case you don’t follow her: https://drandreadinardo.com/2017/02/06/happiness-is-a-conscious-process/#comment-1841

        Dr. Andrea Dinardo

        9 hoursThriving Under Pressure
        Yes Ipuna!
        Thatโ€™s my favourite part of applying positive psychology & health psychology to everyday life.
        Being conscious of the link between thought & energy & emotion changes everything.
        This alert awareness to our own life gives us us a sense of control (no matter how small) โ€“ a key factor in cultivating happiness.
        When we donโ€™t like how we feel, then we have to consider what weโ€™re thinking. And then we have a Choice to Challenge or Change our thoughts for the better.
        Thoughts => Energy => Emotion => Action

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved reading this post. Your sense of humour, and writing style makes me happy, lol! Well done on the running… I need to get off my lazy ass and start exercising myself. I used to do Muay Thai and MMA, but if I have to do that now, I’d pass out! But I love that form of exercise… running is a bit boring for me. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why thank you, Rayne… it’s very nice of you to say. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Gosh, Muay Thai and MMA? Now that’s some proper sport[!] You obviously have a more creative-athletic spirit than me. Haha, I probably would’ve passed out before I began either of them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha well ‘rarely’ is OK[!]
        The worst was once lying on the road, looking up at the starry sky, after falling over on black ice. Brr. Never jogging in late December again…

        Like

    1. Haha maybe… maybe not! I’m not sure if my ambitions reach that far. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But thank you.
      I’m sorry you can’t run now: yes I think walking is my favourite exercise — simple but effective. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. I also used to be a good runner. I’ve let it go now though. I do miss it but exercise obsession was a part of my downfall so I avoid it at the moment. I can’t wait to start running again. My therapist has told me I can start now so I might give it a go, knowing I’m not alone in trying will make it easier ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry it became an obsession, but returning to it in tandem with good advice is really good. Haha I’m sure you’d be much more accomplished than I… hehe I don’t look quite well when I run. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.