THE SERENETIST !

Sounds like a bad TV series, eh? 

It's a synthetic word, of course. 
Indeed, if it were an authentic word, surely spelling it serenitist would be more proper? But I like the look of the 3 E's, emphasising the 'serene'... and it's my own pet word, after all,  

But it's one of a number of odd things that I like to self-describe as, in my more whimsical moments:

ANXIETIST [may not may not be a real word]... "sufferer of anxiety". 

COCKTAILIST... "maker and [more importantly] drinker of fabulous, colourful and delicious cocktails".

NEUTRALIST... "someone who prefers neutrality, if it's an option".

And now a new one...

SERENETIST... "someone who prefers serene neutrality, where possible, for the sake of personal spiritual wellbeing".  

Of course, you could reasonably argue that it's all nonsense. But in reading a number of online left- and right-wing newspaper articles in recent years [and the passionate, vitriolic comments that follow] I can conclude that there are certainly worse things than being a serenetist. It doesn't mean cold and indifferent, after all. Far from it; it often hurts to feel things too much.

It's certainly a big world, with a lot of problems. I wish there were solutions that we could all agree on, but it's my firm view that we need to start with ourselves. As Mr Gandhi said: "Be the change that you wish to see in the world." 

As someone who doesn't get thru any day without some degree of heightened panic, to the point where it's brought me to the brink, I've had to prioritise my personal duties. They are thus: 

[1] To myself; to my sense of calm.

[2] To my friends; with special attention to those who suffer as I do.

[3] To the world at large. 
 
In viewing the world like this, I consider it a not-unwise observation to say that simply having a calm morning/afternoon/evening without drama, unhealthy intensity or bad vibes is an accomplishment, a joyous one... for any of us. One to be proud of. 
So if you've had a good morning, afternoon, or evening recently... well done. 

And now my morning's busy-work is out of the way, I've a few free hours to aim for a slice of serenity. 
Wish me luck [!] 

Sincerely, 
Buffy 
Part-time Anxietist; occasional Cocktailist; neophyte Serenetist. 
Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

22 thoughts on “THE SERENETIST !”

  1. I am a diagnosed “ANXIETIST” caused by a chemical misfire somewhere(although they called anxiety and panic LOL) Thankfully, I have been blessed and have become a controlled SERENETIST 🙂 most of the time 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. yeah it was kind of crazy. I had suffered through it all my life, since childhood, when I got older, I thought well every body goes through this, you wimp, just deal with it. It was only by accident that it was discovered when I was 32 years old. I had taken a friend to the hospital for surgery. I’m sitting there feeling like I always did, nervous, heart pounding, thinking I was going to have a heart attack, well, at least I’m already at the hospital, lol, just wanting to jump out of my skin and run, sweaty palms, and the nurse taking my friends vitals, asked if they could take mine. Shocked, I asked why. She said because the vein in your neck is pounding so hard and fast I can see it, do you feel ok? I said what I always said, I’m fine but you can if you want. She took my vitals and asked me how I wasn’t curled up in the corner hyperventilating. I’m thinking to myself, oh no, my worst fear someone knows I’m crazy and they are going to lock me up but what I said to her was, “Why would I be in the corner. I’m fine, I’m always this way. It’s normal.” She said no it’s not, and told me to go to my doctor and talk to him about it, that I was exhibiting the signs of a panic attack. After seeing my doctor, everyday for a little over a week so he could monitor me, he agreed that it was severe, and why had I never told him. Like I said, I thought every one felt this way, I was just weak or something, deal with it, and that was also the reason I never went to see him unless I was severely sick, because they might discover my “craziness” He of course sent me to a physiatrist, to see what childhood trauma, or other trauma was causing this, and there was none. He determined it was chemical. I thought, this guy is crazier than me, so I went to another one, female this time, thinking me being female she could figure it out. After months of test, and sessions, she said the same thing, that I could keep coming to see her if I just needed someone to talk to but it was chemical. She said, she couldn’t believe how I could just sit there with my heart rate so high all the time, and control myself. I think it’s just because it had been that way since I was a child, it was like that from the time I woke up until falling asleep, and when I got older I was fearful that I was crazy and they’d come lock me up somewhere..lol…so, I hid it, and hid myself when it couldn’t be controlled. I’d exercise to get my body caught up with my heart rate, if somewhere I couldn’t exercise, like work, grocery store, etc, I’d deal until alone and then meltdown. My friends always joked I was the escape artist because of my disappearing acts, without explanation… lol… I held my breathe when it would start to get to the panting stages, and the list goes on. Whatever it took to survive and for no one to know. How ridiculous it all seems now.

        Wow, sorry for the long comment, didn’t set out to write you a novel 🙂

        Like

      2. I can definitely appreciate the disappearing acts… but you did what you had to do, and got through it, and well. 🙂 Haha yes it ‘seems’ ridiculous, but when we’re in the middle of it, it’s the most tortuous thing (not a word I’d bandy about lightly…)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome… glad you liked ’em. 🙂
      I believe that self-expression and communication are very important for healing — and I also think that new words can be a good part of that. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.