MICRO-FICTION?

Well, why not?

Of course, I'm covered because I've never made any claims toΒ writing anything of quality. Nor will I... haha, but it's rather nice if it accidentally happens anyway[!] 

Without further ado, here's a 35O-word story, written with [virtual] thanks to a random 1st line generator I found online...


"DETONATED STAR" 

That summer seemed to last forever. 
But even apparent forevers, they end. 
Don't they? 
At the end of his overgrown garden, Sam placed the sheets of paper in the little metal bucket. 
Love detonated. 
Love burned. 
Love shone. 
Love smouldered. 
Love died. 
But did love really die? Sam frowned. 
Passion dies. 
Romance CAN die. 
Love does not die. 
That was true. Perhaps his feelings aught to be expressed better? Perhaps it was a simple matter of semantics? 
Sam thought of his surly gran. 
"Semantics? I've got another word for that... wank."
A smile creeping across his face, Sam realised how much he missed gran, 1O years dead. A terrifying, salty-tongued old broad. With a big heart. 
Love does not die.
Yes, completely true; Sam had lost a number of friends, family, and two former lovers... to cancer, old age, and three to car crashes. He still loved all of them. Always would, for as long as he lived and remembered them. 
He took out his cheap lighter purchased on their trip to Whitby. He wanted to cry, now. But he wouldn't. Not outdoors. Old Mrs Neighbour might be watching him. 
The summer, that long summer, had brought him passion with Eve... a gloriously lustrous supernova in the night sky. 
It ended. It had to end. He knew that.
He couldn't argue with silence. 
Happily the light and heat of that loving experience were his, and his alone: a solo supernova that happened to be shared with a lady he considered a muse. 
A temporary muse -- but a muse nevertheless. 
He pulled the top page from the bucket. 
Worthless words on paper that needed burning.  
His lighter ignited the top page. 
Now it was alight. Sam dropped it into the bucket, to share its heat and flames with the rest of the pages.
Destructive, but purifying. 
Sam's gran spoke again, from well beyond the grave:
Life goes on -- so live it. 
There would be more summers. 
Goodbye, dear Eve.
Taking a deep breath, Same turned back towards his cottage. 
Autumn was coming -- and it was time for coffee. 
 

 

Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

19 thoughts on “MICRO-FICTION?”

    1. Ah, you are most kind indeed — and it’s particularly nice to read such a comment from a fine wordsmith such as yourself. πŸ™‚
      And thankyou: that’s a great, albeit bittersweet line. Haha you probably said it better than me, in only 10 words. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      1. Aww, thank you. I might have to use that line in my next post! I’ll see if I can slip in somewhere. 😜

        Hope your day is going well so far… have you got that Friday feeling? Or are you just freezing your …umm… socks off?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah, I will look out for it. πŸ˜‰
        πŸ˜€ Haha all’s well thankyou: I went for a “bracing” walk first thing this morning, as the snow fell… so everything since then has been an improvement, temperature-wise. πŸ˜€
        I hope you’re inclining more towards “Praise be it’s Friday!” than “Is it STILL Friday?” (?) πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Trying to write something for Valentine’s Day but not getting very far. Might crack open a bottle of wine later… might help, you never know! My Friday has that… umm… freezing factor, for sure! A bracing walk sounds… chilly! ❄️ ❄️ ❄️

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Haha, ‘bracing’ is a well-known family euphemism; we’d never admit to the cold, which is more foolishness than bravado. πŸ˜€
        Ah, well I am sure that inspiration will strike… though it mostly keeps its own timetable (sadly).
        Oh yes… wine will help, I guarantee it. πŸ˜‰

        Hope you can stay warm!

        Like

  1. Hilarious πŸ˜‚ made me laugh couple of times! Sam and his “love-ssss” πŸ™‚ too many to handle haha πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŒπŸ˜ & well done! really difficult to write about love nowadays 😬✌️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad I could give you a new word: a dictionary one rather than one of mine. πŸ™‚
        Ah well I’ve tried to write like a ‘proper’ writer (i.e. nice, long sentences), but found it was much easier/enjoyable to just write in my own style… if that makes sense?!
        Poor Sam… he’s had a hard life. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. 1. If you are talking about women…yes, kinda hard* :)) haha but he’ll be fine. He’s a pro-hunter of all new “muse-s” in the neighborhood πŸ˜‚πŸ™ƒπŸ˜ . 2. I like to read texts with long..beautiful sentences, but I can’t write them lol so I’m just writing the way I can. Most important – to enjoy, to build a character, to have an idea, to make ppl smile..or react (touch the heart).

        Like

  2. Wow! This was absolutely amazing! As our friend Summer would say, it’s “lush”! I really enjoyed reading this… You have got to write more of these. πŸ˜› πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gosh, Rayne, you are very kind indeed. Thank you. Haha yes… I can hear her saying that every time I see “lush” written. πŸ˜‰
      I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ll see if I can do another at some point. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.