ALPHA TO OMEGA

Simply put, a leisurely Sunday afternoon A-Z snapshot of some of my traits, desires, and preoccupations: 

Anxiety is my first.
Black Dog -- that's my second.
Compassion is one of my top 3 words. 
Death. I've feared it & desired it... often at the same time.
Empathy. More for everybody, say I!
Friendship: it sustains me. I couldn't live without it. 
Generosity of spirit: I hope I've got plenty. I still want more of it.
Hate. I do, sometimes; some people. Not sure if it's good or bad.
Interesting. My quest is to be so... because if I'm dull, I'm dead.
Joy. I look for it every single day. Mostly I find a fair-sized slice of it.
Kinship. I feel so happy when I find it -- and I often do so in the unlikeliest places.
Loving. Love is what it's all about. I'm privileged to have felt it, and given it.
Moral. I try to be it -- but never to moralise. 
Negativity. It stalks me every day. On my bad days, it catches me. 
Outrageous humour: because of my general demeanour, it sometimes surprises people that I possess it.  
Possibility -- it's a word I utterly adore.
Questioning: my childhood hobby. My enquiring mind never rested.
Romance. It adds colour and flavour to life. Worth doing, every once in a while.  
Social anxiety. It's a right bastard. I'd be happy to be rid of it, for good. 
Terrified. That's me, every morning. About everything. Sometimes I get better. 
Utopian. That's my soul, by day. And by night? It depends.  
Vision. I certainly don't have enough -- and I'd like more.
Whimsical. Me at my best, say I! 
X-rated. I've had my moments. Just don't tell the Vicar.  
Youth. What I hope never to lose, in my mind.
Zonked. Me, after this post. 

 

Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

34 thoughts on “ALPHA TO OMEGA”

  1. I read it all…what can I cay? Exciting :))
    1. You forgot “overthinking” …probably A-till-Z ur biggest preoccupation. If someone would ask me to describe myself like this – I’d come up only with 3 words. Too simple-Me, sigh*.
    2. From the artistic point of view ur post – original, funny, meaningful
    3. About hate – it is destroying. Short term hate is ok maybe. But never long term..
    🤗 hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re most kind. 🙂
      Yep, I could have put “over-analytical”… I obviously didn’t think my post through enough. 😉
      Fair point about hate… I probably a love-hate relationship with it…!

      Haha you can’t beat hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah… I believe your mum is being a little over-simplistic there (if you don’t mind me saying?!) 😮
        Certainly it’s a waste to be kind when there’s no chance of it being appreciated (some people only ever “take”, for example) but if we can work out who appreciates/benefits from kindness and who are just ‘takers’, then I think that ‘discerning kindness’ is an excellent positive force in the world. 🙂
        [Just my philosophy… let me know if it makes no sense!] 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So u mean u have to figure out first: will be ur kindness appreciated or no 🙂 kinda “selfish kindness” – my mum would like it for sure haha. I understood ur philosophy. Mine is still very simple: straight forward- calm – kind – 2 step back, 1 ahead. My mum think my kindness is stupid bcz even if I KNOW the person is only taker* (as u saying) & I probably shouldn’t be toooooo kind to him/her – I’ll be kind anyway. But yeah..I’m learning my mistakes. Hopefully going to be smarter some day haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha well I think I’ve just developed my kindness after a lot of ‘failure’… possibly selfish, yes, but I prefer to think that kindness is part-artform, part-gamble. 😉 If in doubt, I say be kind… so you’re not doing badly. 🙂 Haha you’re plenty smart — I’m learning a lot from you!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thx for the new description of “kindness” :)) i thought it is “helpfulness towards someone in need, not in return for anything”. New times = new meanings haha in any case it’s always good to be careful and kind (with ppl) …to avoid “failure”

        Liked by 1 person

      5. New definitions are always enlightening. 🙂 Well I’m no expert on the subject, but I do know that sometimes we waste valuable energy on feeding insatiable appetites, so to speak[!]
        But absolutely: care and kindness of approach can only be positive. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou Carolyn… glad you can relate!
      Hmm, I think if you click on your followers list you then can click and choose to get alerts from inidivudals or not? It’s nice that you might want an alert, though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.