CHOCK-FULL O’NOTHING

I've been sitting in this swanky captain's swivel chair with a sweet cuppa and deciding what to write about on this decidedly grey and dull Saturday afternoon.

It's at an odd time of day: a time succeeding all that I've had to do and preceding that which I want to do [there's a pub involved... surprise, surprise].

And I'm finding myself meditating on nothing. 

Not unusual. 

Meditating on 'nothing'... emptiness; unknowingness; limbo, as I call it.

But even after all these years, I still can't quite get to grips with "emptiness" -- either as a feeling, or as something to analytically define. 

A spiritual state of being? 
A chemically-induced feeling?  
Simple boredom? 

I still don't know. I'll write about it properly -- one day.
In the meantime, though, here's a haiku about it: 



"LIMBO" 

First: the drudgery. 
Last: the fun, frolics, and wine. 
Define the middle? 

The Inbetween Time. 
Cool and cloudy confusion. 
Doubtlessly empty. 

Not a sinful soul. 
Ignorant of the Divine? 
Clearly hard to say. 

More silence needed. 
To enjoy the Spotless Void; 
Be the Wise Old Owl. 

Contemplation's done. 
Limbo ended for the day
With my last full-stop.

 

Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

20 thoughts on “CHOCK-FULL O’NOTHING”

  1. Beautifully put. I’m much the same… I struggle with ‘limbo’ … as humans we tend to feel the need to fill every moment, but sometimes it’s just nice to sit in the ‘still’ and be at one. Whether this is done with a joss stick in the background, it’s up to you! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thank you. I’m in good company, then. πŸ™‚
      And yes… I think that human need to ‘fill’ is ruthlessly exploited by people who like to sell us ‘stuff’ to fill that time… a meditator who just seeks one-ness at these times is blissfully (smugly?!) beyond such a grasp — that said of course I still need to buy my joss sticks…(!) πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right on[!] Will be on the high street tomorrow so fingers crossed. πŸ˜€
        I hope you’ve had a creative ‘second wind’…. oh, and in spite of my empty ‘wine cellar’ tonight, soon there WILL be late nite Strawb Cider ramblings, you can count on it. πŸ˜‰
        Vive le cidre de fraise, mademoiselle!

        Like

  2. Am I weird because I sometimes thrive on those “moments of emptiness” – sometimes the not caring and feeling nothing are the best I’ve ever had. Lol, I sound pathetic. I’ve been hiding from my friends and people in general except when I travel. Okay, sorry for the rambling. Your writing invokes a lot of emotional thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, Bel, I don’t think that’s weird… maybe sometimes when we tend to feel things a bit too deeply, there’s something quite calm centr-ing about simply “getting away from it all” into a sort of nothingness, or indifference… not pathetic at all; it sounds like good sense and maybe spiritual(!)
      And you’ve given me something to consider, too, so I’ll have to disagree with you, regarding ‘rambling’. πŸ˜‰
      And thankyou; it’s slightly humbling to think that I might evoke emotional thoughts in someone like your good self.
      Thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s very nice to hear. πŸ™‚
      Oh yes, they’re definitely some of the worst times to feel alone — the times of isolation when amongst a roomful of company have been some of the worst lonely experiences, for me.
      Haha I think I classed myself as ‘pseudo-philosopher’ on my bio at one point… πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved the haiku. For me, I don;t struggle so much with the “nothing” as the anxiety I feel when I’m in it. “What should I be doing? Should I just accept this? Should I move (mentally or otherwise)? If I move, where do I go? etc etc etc until the nothing feels like a crushing inescapable weight.

    yeessh Buffy. You really bring something out in me here. Pretty sure THIS is the mark of a writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You do say the most kind things, thankyou. πŸ™‚ I know exactly what you mean about “inescapable weight”… that’s definitely how I feel when its at his strongest. I have said “crushed under a rock” a number of times. It’s a sort of contradiction, the idea of emptiness being so heavy. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very kind indeed. πŸ™‚
      Yes of course… I’ve been neglecting my blog-reading recently due to time constraints, but I’ll be sure to go have a look ASAP. I’m not a particularly good critic but I’ll have a go. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.