DAMNED LIES

'DISGUISES'

We keep it simple: 
Call them "hero" and "villain". 
Then we feel better.

But please ask yourself: 
Does "simple" mean "accurate"?
Are they synonyms?

The real bigot? 
Not who you might think it is: 
Take a good, long look. 

Sophistication? 
A pleasant, shiny veneer:
A child lurks beneath. 

Don't be too trusting: 
The Devil is NOT the bloke
With red horns and tail. 

No; he will assume 
The guise of a kind angel; 
Smooth tongue, pretty words. 

A too-true cliché:
Actions speak louder than words. 
Hell knows, it's damn true.

Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

4 thoughts on “DAMNED LIES”

  1. The devil was after all an angel, he knows how to think, act and look like one.
    Lovely piece, doesn’t do anything for my trust issues but I shall blame humanity rather than your wonderfully written description of the failings of humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make a good point there about the devil once being an angel. Not something I’d thought of (!)
      Thank you, very much — I wish I could be more positive, indeed. I suppose all I can say for now is that I’ve come to think that trusting is an art; one that we need to perfect.
      I’m still not very good at it! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

