TEXT-BLINDNESS

Phew... and what an April it is. 

Don't get me wrong; things are nowhere near as bad as they were in January-February, but that's not to say they're fabulous. Far from it, indeed. 

My mind is ever-fuzzy, and the anxiety comes in waves; none of this being helped by my ongoing task of the week. 

A lot of my everyday life consists of emails and communications, but at the moment I'm trudging my wayย thru a complete proofread of an 88,OOO-word manuscript.

The thing about such extensive proofreading is that I end up temporarily going what I often call "text-blind"... words themselves cease to have proper meaning, chunks of text just go blurry in my mind, and I get fed up of "words".
The worst part of this? I've lost most of what I like to call my creativity. Proofreading really crushes the creative spirit.

I know it won't last forever, and I know [and am content, indeed] that my own literary or poetic talents are modest ones: but two things can be noted clearly from all this over-charging of my mind: 

[1] How much I dislike the 'fussy' element of editing and the like. 
Perhaps because of a certain finicky nature, I find such things stifling. I'm content to avoid such things, if possible. 

[2] How important creativity is for me. 
I do believe it makes all the difference between a healthy mind, which focuses on the good, and an unhealthy mind, which obsesses and gives myself a hard time from dawn 'til bedtime [and that's assuming I sleep]. 

I'm assuming point [2] is pretty much universal... particularly for anyone with a sensitive mind and soul. 

But I have to say, for all the tribulations that my own mind brings me, interacting with kindred creative people is worth its weight in gold. 
So anyway; be creative, mes amis... and remain so, just as much as you wish.
 

'MISTER PROOFREADER'

Drowning in red ink.
Rubbing my weary, red eyes. 
And red mist rising. 

Words clog up my mind; 
Literate suffocation. 
Time to get fresh air.  

But I love stories; 
Keep me clear of minutiae 
And all will be well.

 

 

Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

18 thoughts on “TEXT-BLINDNESS”

  1. Buffy,
    It sounds like drudgery. Does it help to know that you are helping someone immensely. Your keen eye will save them from being misunderstood and embarrassment.

    I’m glad that you make the time for your own writing. Creative expression is core to growth and for me, happiness. Nothing like making a mark that precisely conveys a feeling, or a sentence that ties everything together….write on!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Brian; not for the first time, you put it very well (!) I always welcome such perspective. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I think you’re right about creative expression, too… it can be very fulfilling to ‘hit the target’, as it were.
      Keep writin’, too… I also need to catch up with your blog and others… I’m well behind!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wasn’t sure if it was your own work you were proof reading, Buffy, but from the preceding comment I gather not. Are you doing this for a living? I think it takes a certain type of person. I know I can become word blind very easily. Scourge of the modern age, don’t you think? And yet it rarely happens when I pick up a book- just in front of the laptop. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I do a bit of regular proofreading, Jo, but something this large is thankfully only a one-off! (It’s not technically my own work, but I did have a bit of a hand in writing it.) I think you’re right that it takes a certain type of person — someone with a lot more patience than I!
      Yes it’s odd, isn’t it? Definitely easier to become word-blind on a screen: maybe it’s the lighting?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That is particularly appreciated coming from you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Haha I’m only patient to a point… it took me a lot of coffee and periodic pacing before I completed it (!)
      All done in time for Easter weekend, though… phew…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I thank you… haha well I need to fatten up my wallet for Sunday, so it’s definitely lemonade tonight… albeit in a cocktail glass so I can pretend it’s something stronger.
        Chin-chin. ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿธ

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You can create, and you can edit, but it’s so hard to do both at the same time. I think creativity predominantly comes from our subconscious mind, while editing predominantly comes from our conscious mind.

    I’m with you on the value of interacting with one’s kin in creativity, Buffy. I used to think everyone could be creative if they would only try, but apparently there is a body of 30 year old science that says otherwise. There’s a bit of the tragic in that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good observation, Paul, and I’d not thought about it before… the two activities are so closely connected, yet poles apart.
      I used to think likewise about everyone being able to be creative — and it always frustrated me that I was the only one in my family who would be even vaguely creative (regardless of lack of talent when it came to my music!). It’s a definite shame because I think creativity makes us much more rounded human beings (or seems to… I can’t speak for everyone!)
      Thank you for your excellent thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.