BETTER IS BEAUTIFUL

As youths at school -- in what seems a whole lifetime ago, now, elderly fellow that I am -- we were sometimes asked by teachers what we wanted to be when we grew up. 

After two decades of being an adult and gracing a few arenas of employment, I'm still deciding. 

But this one goes beyond career or other signifiers of adulthood or tangible achievement: 



'GROWING TOWARDS THE LIGHT'

What do I want to be? 
I want to be better.

I want to give out a smile
Not expecting one back. 

I want to speak out 
Even though it might cost me.

I want to personally make sure
No-one feels left behind.

I want to go thru a single day 
And not once feel despair.

I want to recall my life's mistakes
Without beating myself up for them.

I want to look in the mirror 
And think: "Yeh... he's alright."

Praying for miracles? Perhaps. 
But worth dreaming of, yes?

What do I want to be? 
I want to be better.

 

Author: Buffy Devane

Anxietist; Cheerleader; Captain Posh.

29 thoughts on “BETTER IS BEAUTIFUL”

  1. I couldn’t have expressed it better myself. Perhaps this is the common cause of depression, an awareness that we want to be more and better. While everyone else is happy with who and what they are (whether they should be or not).
    People often ask the question why are you depressed, expecting to hear a sad story of a terrible thing that happened. But to point them to this would be the best response.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gosh, thank you, Hans… you’re very kind.
      It’s a big question, isn’t it? There’s “finding your bliss” and there’s “settling” and they can, at first glance, seem identical — though in reality they could be worlds apart.
      I do think, though (as I tried to say, clumsily, in the title!) that the TRYING to be better is, in many ways, the most important thing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The tangible, the career, those are good and all but it is the “you” that is the most valuable of all things. My prayer is that you look in that mirror and see the most valuable thing in the universe, that ever was, is or will be. More precious than gold, or silver, or any tangible thing you could lay your hands on. You my friend are the beauty, the success, the value. :):) I’ve missed you the past couple of days 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gosh, you are so very kind, SuperGirl. 🙂
      Haha, would you mind awfully moving quite near to me so I can enjoy your positivity at the pub, at least once a week? I would make all the difference. 😉
      I wish I could post something good, once a day… time will tell! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. For all the good stuff, that’s the single bad thing about your meds. 😦
        Ah… let me know and I’ll drink a beer at the same time. 😉 I hope it’s a not-disagreeable experience for you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the sentiments expressed in this poem. To smile without expecting anything in return. It takes great insight, I believe, to understand that as an improvement.

    I think there’s a nearly universal human desire to be better, though perhaps for many of us that desire has been replaced by a desire to accumulate things. Self-improvement through consumption, so to speak.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you Rebecca… a very nice comment to start the day with(!) Right now I try to be “positive without BS” (to borrow a mantra from a friend) so your thoughts are most kind, and most welcome. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

